Posted in Module

Online Learning

This week we talked about CSS in class. Basically editing your web page to make it more appealing. In the module, there was a website with a whole list of web design trainers. People who teach you how to use code to improve your website. There are a ton of them and they all teach differently and they all have expertise in different areas.

Personally I think “Don’t Fear the Internet” would be good for me.

This is an excerpt from the website creativebloq.com, “Don’t Fear the Internet is the brainchild of freelance typographer and illustrator Jessica Hische, and is aimed at similarly creative people who have little to no desire to do web design professionally – but at the same time don’t want an ugly cookie-cutter site showcasing their work.

Through short tutorial videos, you’ll learn how to take a basic WordPress blog and manipulate the CSS, HTML, and even some PHP, to match your aesthetic needs. So if you’re scared off by web design terminlogy and general geekdom, but like the idea of a more casual, good-humoured approach to learning, this is a great place to begin. The site is free to use, although donations are welcomed.”

After reading this, I determined that this would be the best place for me to learn. I do not care to be a computer expert. It does not interest me. I just need to know the basics. I do want to continue to blog and there are several changes I want to make even though I do not know how. This would be the perfect place for me to learn. I like short tutorials; don’t drag it out, you will lose me. I just need to know how to change the font. I like good humor. Humor me and I will hang on your every word. I like that it is free. I just need to know how to change this sentence purple and I do not want to pay for a whole month subscription just to learn that one thing. Plus I am more willing to donate to someone who has helped me instead of them insisting I pay (that is just how I feel about it).

The module also talked about MOOCs (massive open online courses). The question is how would this class, CA 260, be different if it were taught entirely online? I do not like that. The article that talked about MOOC also talked about the benefits of MOOC for the students and for the teachers, but I am an in-class-learner. I signed up for an online class this semester and within the first two days I dropped it. I am not dedicated enough to basically teach myself (because that is what happens in online classes. You teach yourself). I need student-teacher interaction. I need to be able to see my teachers face and say, “I do not understand the words you just said.”  I am a visual learner. I am not the only person like this. The article shared the percentage of students who actually stick with online classes. It wasn’t pretty. Sure it will change down the road and we may all be robots one day, but right now, MOOC is not a good idea (in my opinion).

Leave a Reply

